Creation of OpenFunScripter alternative

Hello,

I tried a few times to create some scripts and I went on eroscript and found some complaints about OFS not being maintained.

While I am a total newbie in scripting, I have quite an experience in programming and I would like to create an alternative with a whole new code base that other developers won’t be afraid to contribute to.

I made this post because I was wondering if there was anyone willing to participate in this journey with me.

Let me know if you are interested and do not hesitate to list the major features of OFS this tool should support first.

Thanks in advance

4 Likes

If you can do C++ you could probably contribute to OFS without making a separate application from ground up… Current OFS feels very comfortable for me it just need some bug fixes and QoL improvements.

Also Yoooi is currently making a custom OFS build to include tangents.

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for participating in the discussion.
From what I understood, OFS was very old and not attracting devs anymore. If it is still the case I can collaborate on it

OFS is fine. The biggest hurdle is that it’s written in C++, a language that not that many find attractive to work with anymore. Languages like C# and Java or script languages like Python is what devs prefer today.

I tried looking into a couple of bugs, but my rudimentary skills in C++ wasn’t enough when I realized that I needed to refactor the code and not just add an if-statement with alternative code to handle a missing case. Another bug behaved like a threading issue causing a crash so I backed away from that as well. Now I’ve learnt to live with the bugs like when OFS crash after generating a heat map that includes chapters or that OFS doesn’t store meta data template so you have to enter info there every time.

2 Likes