Do u notice a diffrence in quality when watching vr

I don’t really notice much of a difference, even when going from 4k to 7k. I am using a quest 2 with XTP player, deo vr. don’t know if its a problem with my end, but when I am playing videos in deo VR I checked the video quality and it was greyed out and set to 1920p. I am really new to all of this and am very confused or maybe to me there is no noticeable difference.

Substantial difference between 4, 5 and 6k. After that not always. Some 8k really shines while others are upscaled 5/6k and just look bad for it… looking at you vrbangers.

If I stream from like SLR I do get things downscaled sometimes. If I run locally hosted videos with HereSphere or Playa they are properly scaled. Whether via DLNA or XBVR.

I also have a quest 2.

It really depends on the studio. You have to learn which studios are worth downloading the higher resolution and which where you can stick to slightly lower resolutions.

As mentioned already, those studios using upscale to produce higher resolutions aren’t worth the download/disk space. There are also other factors such as camera quality (not just resolution), studio/set lighting, camera settings and so on. Some studios are really good at producing really high quality 4K while others produce videos that barely look like 3K (lots of grain and choppy/low frame rates).

The VR headset resolution also affects things of course. I haven’t got a Quest 2, but from what I can find it is a mid to high resolution headset, 1832x1920 per-eye. It has excellent price performance though. If you compare it with some high resolution headsets you find e.g. HTC Vive Pro 2 with 2448x2448 per-eye and Pimax 8Kx has 3840x2160 per-eye (it has an insane FoV), but those cost a small fortune.