Device speed limits

I’ve made a few scripts lately, and I’ve always designed them with the Handy in mind (I own a Handy, so I understand the movements, but as I have no experience with other devices, I can’t comment). But one thing I’ve always tried to keep in mind, is that I read that the Handy can go no faster than 400mm/s, so I try to keep the speed on my scripts below 400 unit/s (I assume this is mm/s) on Funscripter (So I often have to use creative methods to get around this, such as fast strokes, with shorter distances).

With the Handy, and other devices, what is the official speed limit? And what happens if it is exceeded? I know with the Handy, it still works, but it just doesn’t complete the full stroke.

2 Likes

I’m assuming you’re talking about OpenFunScripter, in which case units/sec is not mm/s, but percentage points per second. 100 units means one full half-stroke, moving from position 0 to position 100, or vice versa.

So 400 units/sec means moving up or down the full range four times in one second.

The Launch is slower than the Handy, but not by very much. It more or less does the same thing the Handy does, which is to stop the current movement and start the next one, but it’s far less graceful about it. Trying to go too fast with the Launch typically results in stuttering. That’s more to do with the command rate it can handle than the speed, though.

The OSR2’s limits are based on the choice of servo, but in all cases it’s going to be a lot faster than the Handy. Speeds which cause the Handy to shorten its strokes by half (because the next command interrupts the previous one) will run at full speed on an OSR2.

1 Like

The Handy will limit the speed itself if the script is too fast, so don’t be afraid to go ham on it. Just make sure that the points are spaced at least by 50ms for shorter strokes and 100ms for long strokes for best result. Producer says that the limit is 600mm/s, but in reality it’s closer to 400mm/s.

2 Likes