How do I keep my internet browsing private?

I recently switched back to Comcast and I know they have some strict rules around Torrents. I signed up for a keep2share account, but I’m not sure if they will flag that activity also. Anyone have a good VPN recommendation to keep my internet browsing private so I don’t get a nasty letter in my mailbox?

ExpressVPN is the only VPN I trust because they successfully were subpoenaed by the Turkish government and no data was retrieved.

If it helps, I’m a Security Operations engineer by trade so I’m very picky with what I trust.

2 Likes

Thanks, actually that does make me feel better haha. Appreciate the quick response.

Any special tweaks or config changes you would recommend?

I use Mullvad VPN, highly recommended and its no matter what just 5 euro a month with 0 commitments.

They are based in Sweden and also comes with a desktop app you can easily turn on, stuff like built in Kill-Switch and etc can be found on their site. It pretty much does it all for you (after you login and have selected a location to be in)

I’ve been using it for half a year after my ISP kept sending me notices, no longer get them ever. It’s very good for torrenting.

1 Like

No additional configurations are really necessary.
Out of the box EVPN has split-tunneling, kill-switch, webrtc protection, TOR node options, etc.

1 Like

Try to get on private trackers. I’ve had Comcast for over 12 years and I’ve only received two notices. Both times I was on public torrent sites. Nothing came of either notice.

I have Norton anti-virus and it comes with a free VPN. I’ve never used it, though.

I use https://www.privateinternetaccess.com/ … it has full VPN and encrypted SOCKS5 proxy setup. I use the SOCKS5 proxy for torrents as it’s much faster. If They ever did deep packet inspection the SOCKS5 wouldn’t protect me for Torrents, but they don’t I have never gotten a notice on the SOCKS5 (I had it off on a bugged upgrade once, got 2 notices immediately).