My OSR2 modifications

I’ve been using an OSR2 now for a bit more than three months, and thought I’d share some of the improvements I made to the base, the lid, and the receiver.

I’m a wordy guy, so the way I’ll do it is to describe problems with the device that I found after assembling and using it, and what I did to fix those problems.

All STL’s for my modifications can only be downloaded from the Tempest Discord server. Look in the hardware-exchange channel for recent posts by my user ID. I’ll just show some images here. Here’s a link to the first Discord post with the STL parts.

First, these problems are all with the version of the OSR2 that existed three months ago. Three of these problems are solved by the recent OSR2.1 incarnation that was recently posted for the first time. I am not adopting that version at this time, because it’s not amenable to fixing one of my problems.

Now, a list of the problems, in the order I became aware of them.

1. The base doesn’t have room for two power inputs or two switches.

2. The receiver doesn’t hold onto a Fleshlight case very well.

3. The servos get hot.

4. The lid doesn’t stay on very well.

5. The servos get loose after a while, and can’t be tightened.

A longer description of the problems:

1. This is a problem of my own creation.

As those of you who’ve built the device know, the simple route is to wire the DC input jack right to the Arduino board, and power the servos from there. If you read the instructions all the way through, you also know there’s another way to do it, where you don’t pass the servos’ power through the board, but get it directly from the DC power input. The board itself is always powered by the USB connection.