Usenet FAQ or pointers

Hi everyone,
I’m fairly new to this scene and am someone that likes downloading high quality VR videos rather than streaming them. I’m having limited success with torrents etc (what i’ve generally used for other content for decades), but I’m seeing a lot of references to Usenet in the comments on this forum. I have no experience with Usenet and was hoping for a couple of pointers on how to utilise this (safely - although I understand the usual risks). I have access to a VPN.

PS I’ve read the rules and I think this topic is allowed, although specific links may not be able to be posted. If I’m mistaken, please feel free to take down.

Appreciate any assistance.

Usenet is the network of servers using the NNTP protocol to exchange messages (called articles) across the internet. It used to be pervasive, with most ISP’s creating their own server for their customers. Today, it’s very much a niche, and you have to find a server to use it, and any server worth considering is going to cost money for a subscription. You also need to pay attention to whether or not the server supports all the binary groups, as that’s the ones you would be interested in. Servers supporting binary groups will have two ways to pay - a recurring fee for a time period of access (i.e. per month), or a one-time fee for a set transfer amount, which you’d renew if/when you run out.

You can find and download an NNTP client, or use the web interface of the Usenet provider if they have one.

Once you’re connected, you search for the news groups you’re interested in, which I’m guessing will start with “alt.binaries.erotica”. All messages are in 7-bit text, so files are encoded (UU, Base64, Yenc, or maybe something even newer by now).