If it makes sense to sell scripts

Hi. Here I am writing scripts and I’m not a professional, I get nothing but hearts for my work, probably from about the 5th script it turned from a hobby to a job (which is a pleasure). The question of buying a 3D printer to create my own device (for the 1st and 6th axes) came up.
Guys share successful script sales techniques. Maybe there’s no point in messing with sales at all? Maybe my scripts just aren’t good enough yet to try selling them? Want to hear the views of professionals.

1 Like

I’m in a somewhat similar situation. Don’t want to paywall off my scripts and I’m far from doing this professionally in any stretch of the imagination, especially since I script for my own pleasure first and foremost. It takes quite some time though and occasionally involves commission-esque requests.
A reliable plattform (for europeans in my case) where people can throw you a buck or two if they feel inclined to do so, would be ideal. Anyone got experience on that front besides Patreon?

But there’s a question - what does it mean professionally? What criteria can be used to determine whether or not a script is well done?
By the way, I’m thinking of making a set of rules for writing scripts in a separate “Howto” thread. This will allow beginners to do a lot of scripts more properly. This will allow the experienced to share their experiences and techniques.
Is an individual’s time (many hours) worth a cup of coffee?

I was thinking, maybe it makes sense to make a paid section on the forum through patreon or other service? All members pay $2 each. 1 for forum support and 1 for votes. All free scripts go through a voting phase a month before publication in the main section. Creators get a dollar for each vote. This way script creators and forum administrators get support.

1 Like

My experience with selling scripts isn’t good. But it depends on so much things: